The awesome Eggplant

image

I was actually wondering if my excessive consumption of eggplant lately would do me any harm. That is seriously how in love I am with this amazing veggie right now. I pretty much could eat one all on my own, if I didn’t remind myself to share…sounds bad but I guess I’m the only one who would eat it anyway. The kids are just starting to take a liking to it now which is great!

Eggplant is one of those things you either love or can’t stand, kind of like brussel sprouts. It’s not something that I ever hated eating, I just hadn’t discovered it’s amazing-ness until the past few years. Eggplant parmesan was always good in my opinion, but a while back I ventured into a recipe found here by the lovely Giada De Laurentiis which hooked me on it! So delish with the pesto and pasta, but lately I’ve devoured this thing in a more simplified state.

.BAKED.

image

I think I’ve mastered my favorite recipe for it though finally! Kind of a culmination of the different versions I’ve tried out. Baked Eggplant recipes all kind of begin to look similar so it’s easy to adapt what you prefer as far as taste goes. I actually liked an addition of light parmesan cheese. Adds a little more saltyness. Eggplant can also be kind of tricky to work with because of how spongy it is. It really soaks up oil like no other. But with the delicious method of baking it, you just can’t go without the olive oil!

All you need is:

1 eggplant sliced width wise

garlic powder, onion powder, pepper, olive oil, salt to taste

parmesan cheese.

I line my pan with foil and spray it with cooking spray. I think the foil helps it crisp a bit. The key to not sogging (that’s my term for them getting horribly soggy during one trial) them up is by using a marinade brush to LIGHTLY brush the oil on both sides of all slices. I REPEAT LIGHTLY brush with oil. After the oil, sprinkle with all the seasonings. I’m not using exact measurements, it’s totally something you can eyeball. I do both sides with the seasons but just go easy so it doesn’t over power!! Then bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 min or until the edges are a little crisp. Add the cheese and let it melt. Eat and enjoy!! 🙂

image

This photo barely made it between bites, it’s THAT good. Or I’m just THAT obsessed.

Could be both…

Either way there are other benefits to reap with this nutrient dense vegetable. It’s great because it fills you up yet it is a low-calorie and a lower carb food. It of course has lot’s of vitamins and minerals, which is great. Also it has phytonutrients which help in releasing icky toxins from the body and contributes to the antioxidant value in it (disease fighting!!). Might I add it is a great source of fiber too.

So in the name of good eating habits, I am going to let myself stay obsessed with the eggplant for now. Just thought I’d share my appreciation of this unique food and possibly inspire a few taste buds while I’m at it!

 

Leave a Reply

