If the shoe fits…

“If toast always lands butter-side down, and cats always land on their feet, what happens if you strap toast on the back of a cat and drop it?” ~Steven Wright

hmm...does anyone know for sure?

Well I thought I’d start this Monday off with a bit of humor and add some extra “randomness” to this post because it’s about to get very random around here lol…

On CATS: Love them. No I would never strap toast to my cats, but this certainly makes me ponder the idea.

On SHOES: Well lets just say there isn’t a question about strapping on a good pair of shoes, it just makes things better.

A good running shoe makes a good run GREAT….A fun pair of rain boots makes a rainy day BRIGHTER…And a cute pair of heels makes an outfit or a mood MUCH better!!

So yeah, shoes can make or break a lot of troubles right?! I normally give into the need for a good pair of running shoes or “comfort/practical” shoes over recent years as opposed to the latest “trend.” It just isn’t a priority or really a necessity to have the super cute heels anymore while I’m toting around 3 kids on a daily basis of course. As much as I drool over cute styles I just don’t give in often.

Let’s PAUSE now for a topic change….

My other bit of random that does relate to this post (I promise) is what I call my “other” work. About 5 or 6 days out of the month through about 8 months of the year I actually do something that doesn’t involve mommying/cleaning/homeschooling/folding/cooking/organizing/sewing/running or any of the other duties I have throughout my days and weeks. I don’t even like to refer to it as a job because it is so sporadic of work that it hardly feels like a job. Plus I actually enjoy doing it so it tends to feel like another hobby of mine!

Anyway I’ve been a make-up artist for a company called Bobbi Brown for 8 years now.

COLOR!!!!

I’m a freelance artist so I get called in with fellow artists to do events in the stores that carry our brand. I’m very passionate about our line. (Bobbi Brown is a woman, not the singer if you’re wondering lol) Plus I get to meet and work with so many amazing women, addressing skin care and beauty needs. The face as a canvas is a lot of fun to work with I have to say! This work I do is flexible to my full-time mommying job, but it’s nice that a few times a month I get to actually dress myself up and put on the shoes of “artist” for the day.

Here was a fun event we did during our PRETTY POWERFUL campaign 🙂

By now you are wondering where I am going with this RANDOM talk and how it ties in…

Well over the course of my work with Bobbi I have developed some awesome friendships along the way.  I feel privileged to actually consider the women I work with friends. We all care about each other and have a blast when we get to work together. So while we worked this weekend, a couple of us were eyeballing the shoe department during some down time. While I’d seen an amazing assortment of trendy shoes, I did fall in love with a certain pair. Of course I was in no way about to buy them.

Knowing that I would never invest in these shoes myself, my sweet co-workers surprised me and all pitched in to get me the pair of shoes for my birthday coming up. It was prob the sweetest thing that has happened to me in a long time. They presented it during the shift and were all sneaky about finding out my size. It was the best surprise EVER!!

I have to share these 🙂

A pair of Jessica Simpson’s never fall short of cute 😉

I felt so special that day and I very much appreciated that they would do something like that for me. I can now be sporting a new pair of shoes when I ring in the big 3-0 in T-minus 6 days here!

Happy Day 🙂

I am very thankful to have a great support of friends in several areas of my life including this one. A BIG Thank you to these ladies!! (This is a couple of us)

Some of the Bobbi girls...

Do you see what I mean with this randomness here?

Buttered-toast+CATS+shoes+job+BIRTHDAY= A sweet surprise and a good MONDAY post haha

One thought on “If the shoe fits…

  1. Pingback: The 30th birthday preview! | Tethered Butterfly's Blog

Leave a Reply

